Poetry to Inspire

Gardener’s Gift

GARDENER’S GIFT

I have a grassy looking plant
in one of my flower beds.
I’ve watered it all summer
as other plants raised flowering heads.

To my surprise and sheer delight,
this week, a flower appeared
and it happens to be my favorite –
golden Freesia – I almost cheered.

I’ve grown them in a greenhouse,
enjoyed them in a bouquet,
but to have them growing in my garden
is more than just okay.

It’s like an end of summer gift
my reward for taking care
of it and other plants around,
not knowing what was hiding there.

A Japanese Maple didn’t survive
last winter in that same bed;
I guess it shaded the Freesia so much
it couldn’t raise a flowering head.

I am blessed.
Jean Kay
September 18, 2013

Freesia by Jean Kay

Freesia by Jean Kay

Comments on: "Gardener’s Gift" (2)

  1. Hi Jean Very nice! Bob

    visit my website: http://www.robertwmackay.ca blogging at: http://www.robertwmackay.blogspot.com author, “Soldier of the Horse” Gold Medal winner, “IPPY”, Independent Publisher Award Longlisted for 2012 ReLit Award Past President, Canadian Authors Association-Vancouver

    Date: Wed, 18 Sep 2013 15:55:07 +0000 To: bob.mackay@hotmail.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

