Poetry to Inspire

DEM LEPRECHAUNS

Dere’s a pot o’ gold in yonder del
I see it shinin’ in der night
but by time me gets to where it’s at –
it’s disappeared from sight.

Me tinks it is dem leprechauns
playing dere tricks on me
dey knows I’d search t’ rainbow’s end
t’ find treasure meant fer me.

So I sits ere contemplatin’
how I can outsmart dere pranks
whilst I down a pint or two
an’ toast de Guinness’s, w’ tanks.

I’ tis a big dilemma,
dey gang up on me y’ see,
an’ I can ‘ear ‘em laughin
as the grog takes over me.

Ah well, maybe tomorra
I’ll tink up an ingenious plot
as to how I can bypass der tricks,
but dey are a connivin’ lot!

Dem leprechauns!

 Jean Kay

More poems on my website http://www.poetrytoinspire.com

Comments on: "St. Patrick’s Day Humour" (4)

  1. Very good, Jean! Thanks Bob

    Silver medal winner “Terror on the Alert” now on Amazon: http://amzn.to/1J6E2RL Gold medal winner “Soldier of the Horse” also on Amazon: http://amzn.to/1IzHNMJ

    See my blog and website: robertwmackay.ca My Facebook page is at Robert W. Mackay Regional Director BC & Yukon, Canadian Authors Association

    Date: Wed, 16 Mar 2016 00:08:39 +0000 To: bob.mackay@hotmail.com

    Like

  2. Rhonda Cogswell said:

    Cute – Enjoy your pints!
    FYI – only use cell now 805-801-1368

    Like

Leave a Reply

